Carter G. Woodson Academy

Carter G. Woodson Academy's Vision

“To educate, motivate and activate the potential for excellence that lies within every male.”

Fayette County Public Schools Mission Statement

"Our mission it to create a collaborative community that ensures all students achieve at high levels and graduate prepared to excel in a global society."



What's Happening at CGWA

Important ROYAL Announcements:

congrats2Congratulations to all Carter G. Woodson Scholars! Winner of High Attendance Day for an Alternate Program, 97.87% of you were in attendance.


new2Applications for the 2015-16 School Year, please click on both links below.  
CGWA Application      Application Insert


newHigh School Homework Page: Tutorials created by Lamonde Connor. Android Device, Apple Device, Chrome, Firefox


Firemen VisitScholars FreDerick Jewett and Haiden Hunt welcome Fire Fighter and CGWA Royal Parent JeRome Brown to the Academy Patriot Day Celebration.

new2Senor McMaine attended a showing of Long Road to Freedom at the Lyric Theatre, and after the show he did a few interviews.

The first interview was with the actress who played Graceanna.  It so happens that she knew some Spanish, so she gave a short introduction in Spanish:
Watch Now...

It so happened that the playwright, Jan Lucas, was in the audience, and she was very happy to do an interview, too.  
Senor McMaine asked her a few questions about how she went about writing the play.
Watch now...

Then, one of the other actors was on stage, and he graciously gave a quick overview of the instruments used in the play:
Watch Now...

newMrs. Trowel, 2013-14 Middle School Teacher of the Year, recently wrote an article about Cultural Proficiency for the Kentucky Teacher Magazine.
Read Now...